In some instances, the Social Security Administration may decide that certain beneficiaries are no longer disabled and cuts off their disability benefits. When this happens, the newly cut-off Social Security beneficiaries have the option to appeal the SSA’s decision. For some individuals, this may be a complicated process, but invariably it is worth the effort. If the SSA has determined that you are no longer eligible for benefits, it is essential to secure legal counsel to help you fight for reinstatement.

If your Social Security benefits have been denied, the Indiana social security disability lawyers of Hankey Marks & Crider, P.C., can help you through the difficult appeals process. Contact us at (317) 634-8565 for a confidential case consultation.

Levels of Appeals

From the day you receive information informing you that your benefits are being cut off, you have 60 days to begin the appeals process. It is possible to continue receiving benefits while going through the appeals process, but it requires fast action. An experienced Social Security lawyer can help ensure you continue getting your benefits during the appeal.

There are four distinct levels of social security disability appeals, with increasing degrees of complexity. The four levels of Social Security appeals are:

  • Reconsideration
  • Hearing
  • Appeals Council
  • Federal Court

If you are unhappy with the decision the appeals court makes, you have 60 days to appeal to the next level. Individuals who are considering appealing a decision made by the SSA are encouraged to consult an experienced Social Security disability attorney to help them navigate the appeals process.

Contact Us

If your Social Security disability benefits have been denied or canceled, the Indiana Social Security lawyers at Hankey Marks & Crider, P.C., can help you through the long and challenging appeals process. Call us at (317) 634-8565 to learn more about how our knowledgeable Social Security attorneys can serve you.